‘Is your gender identity the same as the gender you were assigned at birth?’

Because I now work late (editing transcripts of various companies’ financial reports – it’s quite thrilling, I assure you) I now keep some pretty strange hours. Since I finished a little early tonight I decided to tick a couple of things off my to-do list, and came across something I’d like to share when I was doing some uni admin.

All returning students at my university have to register before the academic year begins. Why this is I’m not sure (you’d think by now that they’d expect it), but part of the process includes answering, or amending previous answers to, various questions. Some are practical, detailing living arrangements and providing emergency contacts, and some are clearly designed to help compile stats on diversity and so forth for the University Union. It contained all the usual questions on ethnicity, religion – and one I haven’t seen before on this form:

LGBT gender transgender issues - Beckie Smith

This is such a rare question on registration forms, which usually limit themselves to the M / F options. There’s no recognition that some people don’t identify as cis-gendered men or women, or that for some people gender identity is less clear-cut than male or female.  So to find such a question alongside all the others on what is effectively a diversity survey is great progress towards recognising and celebrating real diversity.

I don’t know what prompted whichever administrative body that designed the form to insert this question – it’s possible that the Union’s Diversity Officer and LGBT Society had a hand in it. If so, it’s a good sign that they are being listened to. Whatever the reason, I’m glad that they did. The more institutions start to positively recognise the gender identity – even the existence, which has often been ignored – of trans* people, the better. Hopefully this will challenge the prejudice and ignorance which many people face on an everyday basis, and foster an attitude which does not exclude people who identify as transgender, genderqueer, intersex, or any other label which does not conform to the traditional gender binary. I look forward to the day when this does not draw comment or require any kind of commendation. That may be some way off yet – but this is an encouraging step in the right direction.

9 thoughts on “‘Is your gender identity the same as the gender you were assigned at birth?’

  1. Wow, I’ve never seen that question on a form before! Hoping it makes others ask more questions ~ Interesting!

    By the way, thanks for commenting on my blog! Following yours!~

  2. Pingback: Beckie Smith

  3. Hey Beckie, thanks for writing about this! I myself was positively surprised to see it there. It’s true, progress with any human rights issue starts with recognition of its existence, which this question clearly shows. Then comes tolerance and eventually understanding. It’s just one of those questions most people would think is black and white, like ‘yes or no’, – ‘male or female’, ‘straight or gay’ – but in reality it’s not like that at all (it’s a rainbow!?), people tend to take that for granted.

    I agree, I hope one day things like this don’t elicit comment in the future, but until then, it’s nice to give recognition to the little steps that lead towards breakthrough.

    Jess 🙂

Leave a Reply

